Reviews

Home / About Us / Reviews
Harriette Bartron
Harriette Bartron
2018-05-15T03:28:09+0000
They do a great job and honor the Lord Jesus at the same time! Keep up the good work!
Kimberly Sorgius
Kimberly Sorgius
2018-05-15T00:17:45+0000
Sarah Joy
Sarah Joy
2018-04-22T04:04:45+0000
Levi Feaster
Levi Feaster
2018-04-21T19:17:47+0000
David Sutton
David Sutton
2018-04-20T06:31:55+0000
Best Narnia Stage Production YetLast week I traveled from Colorado Springs to Greensville, South Carolina to see Prince Caspian at The Logos Theatre. I am pleased to say that it was worth a journey of 1,600 miles. This is not only the best Narnia stage production, but one among the best shows I have ever seen. The show has brought to life the world of Narnia out of passion for the books and understanding of the source material. If you didn’t like the film, this is the version of Prince Caspian you wish was made into a movie.When Academy of the Arts decided to adapt Prince Caspian to the stage it was the first time any professional theatre company had ever attempted this show. The script was personally vetted by C.S. Lewis’s stepson Douglas Gresham and a special video introduction from him is used to open the performance. It is remarkable how closely the script sticks to the book and includes all key story points. The play is the perfect length and rivets the audience’s attention from beginning to end. Some of the original scenes also enhance the story including introducing unique opening sequence and developing the relationship between Prince Caspian and his nurse.One thing that the Academy of Arts pulled off was making the show spectacular and creatively accomplishing impressive special effects. The way that the children enter and leave Narnia is very memorable as are the puppetry for Aslan and Prince Caspian’s horse Destrier (comparable to the West End’s War Horse). There were limitations in a small stage with minimal sets, but I was impressed with how creative use of a turntable was able to make these simple scenic elements create the illusion that the children were traveling across a larger world. The feel of the show was very cinematic and although it was not a musical, movie soundtrack style music drove the action in many scenes.The whole cast performed wonderfully and I was especially touched by young Caspian and his nurse. The only characters that did not meet my expectations were Reepicheep and the voice of Aslan. It will be difficult for anything on stage to match the memorable and courageous presence of Reepicheep from his portals on film. It also took me a while to get used to how different Aslan’s voice sounded, but the overall performance of Aslan was excellent. His dialogue and stage presence brought to life His return of Narnia with spectacular power and might. The storytelling approach followed the events of Aslan and the girls taking place in parallel to the climactic battle. All of this stirred my excitement for a climax with both the return of the trees and an action packed battle fought with real swords and armor.If you are able to travel to Greensville, South Carolina to see Prince Caspian in its third and final run you will not regret the journey. The show will run from now through April 23 in the Logos Theatre and then will be followed by The Horse and His Boy premiering in March 2019. From my time with the creative team I have come to appreciate their love and enthusiasm for both C.S. Lewis and theatre which make this show particularly stunning. I look forward to seeing the way that The Academy of Arts will take on more Narnia stories. If they are are able to improve upon this level of excellence, their project of building The C.S. Lewis Memorial Theatre will truly be a destination for Narnia Fans.read more
LoLo Lemieux
LoLo Lemieux
2018-04-15T05:20:28+0000
Henry Durand
Henry Durand
2018-04-01T20:53:26+0000
I watched the adaptation of Prince Caspian, and I can say it is an experience I will never forget. The acting was wonderful, and the sets were immersive and engaging. For me, a long time lover of the Narnia novels, it felt like a reunion with old friends.read more
Nathan Reese
Nathan Reese
2018-03-26T01:18:11+0000
Katie Brannon
Katie Brannon
2018-03-25T11:36:31+0000
Paul Hinton
Paul Hinton
2018-03-18T11:24:58+0000
The magnitude, quality and power of performing arts at this theatre cannot be explained, only experienced.
Julie Hafer
Julie Hafer
2018-03-17T00:45:47+0000
Lindy-Marie Ramirez
Lindy-Marie Ramirez
2018-03-16T10:35:47+0000
We recently moved to Taylors, SC and during our research of our new town we found , The Logos Theatre. What a wonderful find! Yesterday we experienced Prince Caspian, it was so well done! The whole experience was a great tribute to the staff and cast. From the moment we arrived, we were greeted with smiles, help, and an overall WONDERFUL experience.read more
Quintana Bishop
Quintana Bishop
2018-03-16T02:17:11+0000
I'm still in awe of what I saw today. Don't miss it!
Bonnie Brown
Bonnie Brown
2018-03-15T20:16:23+0000
Amanda Renee Harmon
Amanda Renee Harmon
2018-03-01T19:56:10+0000
I was fortunate to grow up in the neighborhood of the Flat Rock Playhouse in NC. Have been blessed to see "professional" theatre in several states through the years. Broadway included. I could have watched these young people all day. Spellbinding doesn't do the performance justice at all. Blown away just doesn't do it. I saw this play early in February and will be going back with my folks on March 15th to share the experience with them. I implore you...if you have any interest in the "arts" or stage performances...take the time to visit. You will absolutely leave feeling like you've not paid enough to experience what you just witnessed. I rarely ever write reviews for anything. This group, their focus, the professionalism of all involved and the blessing of their faith shining through will not disappoint. Thrilled to have "discovered" this venue and cannot wait until the next time I might visit. Well done.read more
Trista Lindsay Tilley
Trista Lindsay Tilley
2018-02-24T23:27:28+0000
Kenna Bingham
Kenna Bingham
2018-02-24T05:20:20+0000
Gina Cleminson
Gina Cleminson
2018-02-19T15:38:13+0000
I was absolutely blown away by the staging, acting, set, and costumes. Absolutely remarkable. I cannot believe this is in Taylors! On par or higher quality than a Broadway production!! How does everyone not know about this?! So thankful to have discovered it.read more
Laura Williams
Laura Williams
2018-02-14T22:52:11+0000
Robin Neyer
Robin Neyer
2018-02-11T17:11:48+0000
We’ve been theater fans and performers for 30+ years. Prince Caspian was one of the best performances we have ever seen. Another great perk moving to the Upstate! We’re now new season ticket holders!read more
Christin Taylor
Christin Taylor
2018-02-06T17:26:56+0000
Tom N Tricia Dyar
Tom N Tricia Dyar
2018-02-05T13:30:13+0000
Being very involved in the theatre, I do not know how we have missed this absolute diamond tucked away in Taylors. There aren't enough superlatives to describe how impressed we were after seeing the production of Prince Caspian on Saturday night. Upon meeting Dr. Chavers and his lovely wife along with his very talented daughter and son-in-law Noah and Nicole Stratton, we came away with a fresh sense of appreciation for what the beautiful craft of theatre should be. The talent displayed through this show was worthy of far bigger stages, from actors to crew, from scripting to staging. This may have been our first trip to Logos, but it will certainly not be our last. Thank you!Tom and Tricia Dyarread more
Traci Arledge
Traci Arledge
2018-02-03T16:28:23+0000
My family and I went for the first time to watch Prince Caspian. It was an amazing performance and production set. We will definitely go back to Logos Theatre again. We are looking forward to the future productions that will happen.read more
Christina Emptage
Christina Emptage
2018-01-15T19:38:56+0000
You will never believe unless you go and see a production at this theater. They are Broadway worthy.Prince Caspian will blow you away.read more
Janice Danny Bell
Janice Danny Bell
2018-01-09T18:54:57+0000
Always come away with "Wow, I'm so glad we drove the 3 hours and didn't miss this." You will be sure to laugh a little and cry at every performance....at least I do. The performance and message are equal in excellence.read more